My coconut rice recipe

I can’t believe that my recipe for coconut rice (it may be simple, but it is an important part of Malaysian cuisine, so don’t dis it!) is being tried out at a four star hotel in Tokyo.

Our house-keeper was telling me about her husband learning to cook Malaysian curry.  He is the Chef-Manager at this hotel chain, so gets to try out exotic new things with his team of chefs.  Anyway, I mentioned in passing that a good curry should be eaten with coconut rice.  So she asked me how it is made.  After that conversation, I promptly forgotten about it until I received a message from my house-keeper two days later.

In her message, she apologises for forgetting but asks for the recipe again.  I replied, kinda chuffed that she remembered and that her husband is curious to try out this simple dish.  She thanked me and I thought that was that.

The next day, I received another message from her.  She thanked me profusely and told me that her husband cooked the coconut rice for his team of chefs (which they had with the curry they had just learnt to cook from a Malaysian chef) and it went down a treat.  They all thought that it was yummylicious!  They might even use it at the hotel next month, when they are due to have more than a hundred guests from Malaysia and Indonesia.

So the likes of Jamie Oliver, Nigella Lawson and Gordon Ramsay better watch out.  For if Yen can teach cooking…..

;)

Leave a Reply

